otago massacre


critic cavern 27/05/09 by ophalm
May 27, 2009, 2:33 pm
Filed under: drugs, politics, student life, uni | Tags: ,

posted by ophalm

has monday passed already? it easy to tell because the sweet effluent smell of critic arrives at our nostrils once again

only this time it has something to say that’s somewhat relevant. not that it’s not overshadowed as always by the reek of the majority of the publication, but still. give credit where credits due

students fail at democrazy
this is true. we students suck. I didn’t vote either. my excuse is that I didn’t know it was on, but this is a very poor excuse, as I read the critic last week and somewhere in my head I knew there was an election, but I just didn’t click and when I got home on thursday night I had an (unhelpful) email in my student email account reminding me to vote by 5pm (I think). it was later than then so I missed out. so I can’t blame anyone in particular, so I’ll blame everyone.
the idea of doing it online though: ¡el superior! because more people could vote and if the page was made in a reasonable fashion, you’d be able to read about the candidates, and imagine if they started a message board too so people could discuss the candidates and ask them question.
that’d be far too much like democracy should be like though…

stoners need to get an attitude adjustment
this article is pretty spot on. I mean, on some level I disagree with the general notion that people should have to live up to societies expectations, but upon further thought and realisation that stoners are trying to win said societies respect, it’s a worthwhile message.
maybe if they started to realise that stoners didn’t have to be wasters, something might change. so maybe they should stop drinking woodstock (I saw this happen earlier this year!) and wear nice clothes. invite some business men down, maybe peter chin. have some nibbles, some foie gras and impress the locals. the key my friends will be this

what else is there? I’m running this critic cavern without having opened the critic since yesterday morning. due to that, I don’t remember anything else. human lefts was interesting, they wrote the article about the stoners too. an evil rant about open source software is included somewhere and the cartoon about the mother on crack, well, I didn’t find it funny. I wonder what they think about that?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think when it comes to the general election, I might set something up on this site, see if I can get some real democratic stuff happening here. Tell critic about it. etc etc etc

Comment by ophalm

Oh, no foie gras… I know you already know and don’t need me to tell you as you were using it in your context but worth reading up a bit more on it anyway while you mention it:

http://aucklandanimalrightscollective.blogspot.com/2008/11/anti-foie-gras-campaign-launched.html

Comment by Ruby Judas

yes it was a joke, I don’t really approve of foie gras, for those reasons and because I find it a sign of a level of excessive wealth which I find rather abhorrent

Comment by ophalm




Leave a Reply

