otago massacre


Technology Fail by rogueview
May 18, 2009, 5:46 pm
Filed under: student life, uni | Tags: ,

Posted by RogueView

As im sure a vast majority of students do, and in fact I’m pretty sure it’s compulsory, I do a lot of my uni work on my computer. For the most part this is very helpful as my handwriting is about as neat as a 7 year old with a short attention spans is. So why is it, every time I stay up late to complete an assignment, one of my three staple necessities will fail me in order to ruin my day/night.

  1. My computer will freeze at the point where the auto save function is busy overwriting so that neither the former nor the latter version can be deciphered.
  2. My printer will decide that tonight it is out of ink in the brand new cartridge I bought for it three days ago and will not let me print my assignment.
  3. I will manage to avoid failures A and B and have my alarm(s) not go off and sleep in past the deadline.

Now one can argue C is technically my fault but still, two alarms failing simultaneously! What did I do to make technology hate me? The other certainty with technology is that should your own fail you, the public access ones at university will all be taken up by people on Facebook. Now I’m not going to be a hypocrite and say I don’t use it myself but honestly every time I have a total technology hates me day I can be certain that people will be on it when I need those computers.

The other thing that is fantastic about technology is its ability to let us all find new and creative ways to procrastinate from our work. Imagine those poor people who went to university before PC’s were widespread, their only distractions were the weather outside, the family and friends that lived close and the television. Now we have not only built on those, we almost all have cars (I say in terms of all my friends at least) so friends need not live close, sky television with 99 channels of crap instead of the usual 4 or whatever. No, that wasn’t enough, now we have the glories of Facebook and Bebo and Myspace and then there are sites like bored.com and all sorts of online games that we claim are socially acceptable. I will not bother developing on that, we all know what I am implying here.

Mostly when I refer to technology I mean computers and their associated peripherals because I have no problems with my heatpump or electric blanket. Both are fantastic.

So although it is a brief one, im just curious as to if I am the only one that finds technology is great for screwing us over when we give it the slightest opportunity.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

personally I like computers. but that’s because I’m good at them and they do what I want better than I could have imagined they would have years ago

sucks to be you I guess!

Comment by ophalm

Haha no i like computers too i just find they die when im doing assignments. Other than that they are fantastic 😀

Comment by rogueview

I’m just too good to have them die on me

Comment by ophalm




Leave a Reply

