otago massacre


My Brain Made Me Post This by strangelyanonymous
March 23, 2009, 11:22 pm
Filed under: drugs, student life | Tags: , , , ,

posted by strangelyanonymous

Drinking is bad for you. But you will do it. If you are a creationist, blame God. If you are a Darwinist, blame evolution. But for goodness sake – don’t blame your self!

I had the luxury of attending an open lecture last weekend by Prof Harlene Hayne from the Otago Psychology dept. The intriguing title was “My Brain Made Me Do It”. After hearing the lecture I realized that this translates to:  ”It’s not student’s fault that they drink”. I remember feeling that there was some sort of biological duality discussed about responsibility but I was in the midst of a phenomenal hangover so it all slipped into the mists of alcohol abuse. Fortunately the NZ herald ran an article summarizing her research and will I take the opportunity to draw attention to a couple of points raised:

  • We really are our brains, so it’s not surprising adolescent brains like risky behaviour, driving too fast, unprotected sex, alcohol, because that’s what they are programmed to do.

The logic here is interesting. I am curious to see if stands up in a court of law.

  • Girls are now as much into alcohol, unprotected sex, drugs and other risky behaviour and are hurting themselves and dying at almost as high a rate as their male counterparts.

I’m not sure if this is true judging from the preponderance of non-Munich-style “sausagefests” occuring in town. Where are these drunken, loose or dead women hiding? If they were really into risky behavior why are they not wandering the streets in town? Patently false I say!

Anyway, the moral of the story seemed to be ‘let’s give students a chance because they are just glorified children who don’t know any better’. I think she might have the nail on the head there.

You can find the whole debacle here.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

it’s a can of worms though isn’t it! determinism and all that

and I think it’s a bit wrong to say we were programmed to drive fast and drink, I mean, maybe programmed to seek out the sensations those things give would be a more accurate way of stating it – those are just the manifestations of that biological desire within our society.

Comment by ophalm

HEY MAN I LIKE THE BIT ABOUT THES LUTS BUT YEAH LIKE YOU I WONDER IF THIS WAS A SCIENTICIAL STUDY – IE BASED ON EVIDENCE OR JUST INANE RANTINGS AND SCARE TACTICS

Comment by dangercore




Leave a Reply

